weird prayer

This is going to be slightly self-incriminating, especially for those that know me well.

Lately, I have been following the lead of a close friend of mine and not only thinking a lot about my future wife, but praying for her. I have found that this is a really great thing to do. It keeps me focused on God’s will for my future and such…

So here is what these have been looking like.

Hi God,

Today I pray for my wife. I pray knowing that it is going to be Your will for me to find her some day, as you and I both know who I am and what I am like.

I pray for her that she will, first and foremost be a devoted follower of You. May her love for You exceed the love that she has for me. And I ask the same of myself that we will be able to grow closer to you, and thus, closer to each other.

I pray that she will be able to put up with me, as that is something that even my closest friends struggle with sometimes. (I don’t know why its so hard to accept that I am always right! Just kidding…)

But it is that sort of thing that she is going to need all the help she can get with, and I pray that she will be used by You to calm me down in regards to what does not matter, and encourage me to be concerned with what does matter.

I pray for myself in this. You see, she is going to need to love me a lot in order to deal with my antics. I pray that You will enable me to love her the same way, even as Christ loves the Church, the way I am supposed to love her.

Thank You, Lord, for whomever she is, and may You bless our relationship starting even now.

In the precious name of Jesus, Your Son, Amen.

Leave a Reply

