books of 2009 (February)

So I did not get through all the books that I wanted to. I came up a few short, so they have been pushed to March- but here is what I did read:


The Cost of Discipleship by Dietrich Bonhoffer
I was reading this from January to February and was able to finish it well. It is a great read that really challenges the comfort of Christianity as we know it but not to the extent that Claiborne did in the books I mentioned last time (as far as those go, this is a better alternative from someone who knows what he is talking about). Still, Bonhoffer has an item or two that we can disagree on, but nothing doctrinally wrong.

Vintage Jesus by Mark Driscoll and Gerry Breshears
This is the fourth(?) time I have read through this book. The brutal honesty and depth of truth behind it is phenomenal. Jesus is our king, priest, and prophet as described so well by Driscoll and Breshears. It lays out the importance and truth behind why Jesus did what He did and destroys liberal theology which tells us that certain things about Christ are irrelevant.

The Screwtape Letters by C.S. Lewis
Lewis depicts a senior demon in hell (Screwtape) writing to his nephew and instructing him on how to tempt a man. Great commentary on what the warfare is like between heaven and hell. This is definitely one of Lewis’ must reads.

The Shack by William P. Young
Eugene Peterson, on the cover of this book, writes, “This book has the potential to do for our generation what John Bunyan’s Pilgrim’s Progress did for his. It’s that good!”
No, it does not have that potential. No, it can not do that for this generation. No, it should not do that for this generation. No, its not that good.
Having read Pilgrim’s Progress I find it a great travesty to compare this book to that great literary work.
Among the first wrongs (and more deadly) of this book is the author’s attack on the theology (study of God) that is in place (but because he was out to change our minds about God and thus make Bible study look bad, those who disagree with him, such as myself, now look defensive. His theology may be wrong, but he is clever!).
There are barely any threads of truth going through this book, and even when there is a truth, it reminds me of a certain garden where a certain snake took a certain truth and twisted it a certain way… a more extensive review will be soon to come (hopefully).

What I am currently reading:

Vintage Church by Driscoll and Breshears
So far so good! Outlines exactly what the Church is to be. More serious (so far) than Vintage Jesus, and very good.

And for March…


So Great Salvation (for school only!!!!) by Charle Ryrie

Looking at the issue of Lordship Salvation, which I have a paper on at some point.

Total Church by Tim Chester and Steve Timmins

What I hear is a great alternative to The Irresistible Revolution (see my first book list of the year). I will test that statement. Looking at, “What is the Church supposed to be?”. Should prove to be a great, yet challenging, read.

Är Det Synd att tro Tomten av Daniel Jansson
(or, Is it a Sin to Believe in Santa Claus by Daniel Jansson)
Answering that question from a Pentecostal (and Swedish) perspective.

Velvet Elvis by Rob Bell
From what I hear (and have partially read) this attempt to get away from the “old theology” of Jesus is not good. Nevertheless, I have to get through this so that what I say is not hearsay.

To these I will most likely end up adding a few as I get them in. Hopefully the Space Trilogy by C.S. Lewis will make it in soon! I also just ordered five more books from Sovereign Grace ministries, and have a stack of about ten near my bed that I am looking to get through soon.

Leave a Reply

