the sun’ll come out tomorrow…

It never ceases to amaze me how depressed and unhopeful we can be as believers (and by saying we, I mean myself included).

If we are claiming Christ as our salvation, our Lord, our life, our joy… then why don’t we act like we have faith in Him to see us through at least till tomorrow when we can put our faith in Him again.
We often complain about everything that’s happening and don’t even whisper a thanks to God when things are going well. In response to those after 9/11 asking “where is God” I heard one person say that nobody ever thanked God for so many years without a terrorist attack. Not to overstate my point,  but it was cloudy and rainy here in Maine this morning and many were complaining about the weather. Did you thank God for it clearing up? Did you just go about your day?
I understand that life sucks. Believe me, I really do understand. The thing that we need to know though is that God loves us and never temps us beyond what we can handle (1 Corinthians 10:13) and through Paul He tells us that His grace is sufficient for us in every circumstance (2 Corinthians 12:9). In light of this, we need to understand how much joy there is to be found in the hope of Christ.
All that is to say that the best testimony to unbelievers in this world is to not whine and moan about how bad the weather is, being sick, car troubles, filling out FAFSA information, or anything else. True, we must acknowledge that these are all trials in our lives, but if we have the same unhopeful response as non-believers in these circumstances then what is the purpose of trusting in Christ?
My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness
His grace over all of our circumstances is what we should desire. This joy in his grace reminds me of that fantastic song… cheezy, I know, but here it goes…
The sun’ll come out tomorrow
Betchyour bottom dollar that tomorrow
There’ll be sun…
Just thinkin’ about tomorrow
Clears away the cobwebs and the sorrow
Till there’s none!

When I think of a day that’s grey and lonely
I just stick out my chin and grin and say!

Tomorrow! Tomorrow!
I love ya!
Tomorrow!
You’re only a day… a…way!!!

Yeah, I love that song…
Leave a Reply

