Deep love for our great God

And one of them, a lawyer, asked him a question to test him. “Teacher, which is the greatest commandment in the law?” And he said to him, “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your mind. This is the great and first commandment…”

Matthew 22:35-38

A few times now I have read and heard much regarding this text. It escapes me where I have seen it last, but I know that it was in a blog or a book that I read within the past month. I still have yet to get a system down for remembering good quotes and teachings, which is a must!

What I have heard on many occasions regarding this is that when thinking back to the original text, we need to understand the different meanings that they had in Jesus’ day. So mind refers to your mind but includes the heart, soul refers to the very essence of your being, and heart refers to your gut, your bowels things of that matter.
People proceed to say that it would be awkward for us to think of heart as the bowels in this text.
Why so? Let’s think about love?
In my limited experience with love, I know one thing.
When a guy feels deep love for a girl, that love causes him to feel the need for her. What I mean is when he is deeply in love his very being (soul) is desiring her presence, he cannot keep his mind off of her (so she is always on his heart), and because of this, he gets a form of heart sickness, which is never limited to the chest. No, when he is deeply in love, he feels it in his stomach. In his bowels.
So why refrain from talking about it this way? I would argue that we should speak our heart with those we love, however odd it may sound (My love for you is such that it turns my stomach just thinking about you or something like that).
If, then, we don’t shy away from talking to that special someone then why shy away from this type of conversation with God?
God, because You loved me by having Your Son die for me, I will love you with ever fiber of my being. I will think about you always, having you ever on my heart, and in doing so, my stomach will turn inside me to see Your Word be fulfilled.

Sacrilege? No, deep love for our Creator, Savior, and Sustainer.
Leave a Reply

