Soli Deo gloria

They only were hearing it said, “He who used to persecute us is now preaching the faith he once tried to destroy.” And they glorified God because of me.

Galatians 1:23-24
So, whether you eat or drink, or whatever you do, do all to the glory of God. Give no offense to Jews or to Greeks or to the Church of God, just as I try to please everyone in everything  I do, not seeking my own advantage, but that of many, that they may be saved. Be imitators of me, as I am of Christ.
1 Corinthians 10:31-11:1

And whatever you do, in word or deed, do everything in the name of Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him.
Colossians 3:17

Walk in wisdom towards outsiders, making the best use of the time. Let your speech always be gracious, seasoned with salt, so that you may know how to answer each person.
Colossians 4:5-6 

Keep a close watch on yourself and on the teaching. Persist in this, for by so doing you will save both yourself and your hearers. 
1 Timothy 4:16
Do your best to present yourself to God as one approved, a worker who has no need to be ashamed, rightly handling the word of truth. But avoid irreverent babble, for it will lead people into more and more ungodliness, and their talk will spread like gangrene… so flee youthful passions and pursue righteousness, faith, love, and peace, along with those who call on the Lord from a pure heart.
2 Timothy 2:15-17, 22
What’s the point?
Soli Deo gloria- Latin for “glory to God alone”.
That is the point of these verses and our lives. As I said earlier, Jesus must be the center.
For us, this means that we sacrifice for the sake of the Gospel. We live lives that are not our own, but belong to Jesus and allow His Will to rule our own.
In doing this, people will see lives that are changed, and wonder why we are this way. 
The answer we give?
I am a servant of Christ Jesus, who knew no sin but for our sake became sin, so that in Him we might become the righteousness of God. He was the very form of God, but did not consider even that as something to be grasped, but made Himself nothing in the form of man, a servant, humble to the point of death, even death on a cross. He was pierced for our transgressions, crushed for our sins, the punishment that brought us peace was upon Him, and by His wounds we are healed. And of first importance is that He was raised from the dead, so that my faith is not in vain, and now lives to make intercession for us, His people, at the right hand of the Father. In light of what Jesus did, and is doing now, may it never be that I continue sinning just to be forgiven by His grace all the more. I am made free from all but have made myself as a servant to all, that I might win more of them, I do all for the sake of the Gospel that I may share with them in its blessings. Therefore, woe to me if I do not preach the Gospel in word and deed!

Or something like that…
Leave a Reply

