Introductions (part 1)

I thought and prayed long and hard about how I might compose this post, and it’s my prayer that people may understand more about biblical judgment and how there is a distinction between that and what the world calls “judgment”. After all the discussion on it, this post is necessary on a few accounts-

  1. I made a very open ended statement (on-line) that (seriously) was not meant to stir a debate, but encourage thoughtful study on what God commands of us in regards to judging others.
  2. This statement (thanks to the relationship between Face Book and Twitter) made it to my Face Book status and upon returning home from work, I had 29 Face Book updates regarding this post.
  3. For all my talk against the emergent church, it was very emergent of me to say something that was more like a targetless projectile into the atmosphere, and that needs to be explained lest I become more towards thatconversation.
  4. It also needs explanation due to the fact that many misunderstood my intentions and the exegesis of it (basically the drawing out of the meaning).

Here is that statement: 1 Timothy 1:12. Judging people isn’t bad.

It seems that unbelievers  (and at times, many believers) have an active knowledge of 3 verses in the Bible. They are as follows: Matthew 7:1-6, John 3:16, and 1 John 4:16. As a result of this, we have a problem where people in general (Christians and un-believers) think that it is wrong to judge people. That is the basis of this discussion. We, as humanity, need to change our definitions back to what they originally should be. For this reason, I will look at two terms thatcannot be interchangeable as they are merely similar and should never be the same: Judge and Condemn.

To end, I will look at our role in forgiveness… let’s begin.

One thought on “Introductions (part 1)

  1. Emma June 12, 2009 / 20:18

    This blog’s really quite intersting.. Thankyou 🙂

Leave a Reply

