To be a Guardian

A few weeks ago the proverbial angel and devil appeared on my shoulders, and since it’s quite awkward to constantly argue with yourself, I decided to seek counsel from a good friend on the issue.  Her advice was invaluable, and her charge was that of man’s role as protector (specifically to women). I was so confounded that this perspective had eluded me, I was so focused on what I did or did not want in the given situation that I completely missed the eyes I was trying so hard to look into. This friend emboldened me to approach the stage with a new script. So that’s what I offer you now. Have any one of you really thought on our role as Protector? (I am speaking specifically to men) I’m not talking fleeting consideration, but rather pure and blazing cognition, a true acknowledgment of this role given to us by God. Now  I know what most of us are thinking  here. “Of course I have, I would risk my life for my loved ones!” Now I am guilty of that thought myself, but the reason I lay guilt on this idea is for two reasons.

1. with this thought we have just firmly inserted ourselves into the cliche that is any action movie, chick flick, or romance novel

2. most of us will never have to display guardianship in this way ever (sorry guys)

Now the issue isn’t the fact that we would die for those we care about, that in itself is a very noble thing. (It’s exactly what Christ did on our behalf! ) The issue  though, lies in the fact that often times we let the idea die there. We seem to forget what else is entailed in the job description. Written below are some synonyms for the word ‘protector’

advocate, angel, champion, defender, friend, guide, supporter, sympathizer

These aren’t all the synonyms of course but they’re important ones I think.  How often do we categorize these qualities with the idea of protectorship? Do you sympathize with your girlfriend or your mom when they seemingly cry for no reason? or do we leave the room, roll our eyes and write it off as just their emotions or maybe even P.M.S (though we all know,or should know,  that that is never a smart thing to say) The main point I am trying reach is that we cannot afford to fail in this arena. This means speak respectfully to our Mothers when they’ve asked for the fortieth time for you to take out the trash, understand the impact breaking up with a boyfriend has on your little sister and listen to her while she talks through her tears(even if the guy deserves to sit under your wheelwell) and set and respect the physical boundaries with your girlfriend!

1 Corintians 13.4 is the one of the greatest depictions of TRUE love. To Protect is the tangible outworking of Love.  I would encourage everyone to rethink the way we champion the women in our lives. That our outworking guardianship is evident to the world and to them. So through that Christ’s love would be more fully known and completley shown.

I again encourage every man reading this to literally become that Paladin (another synonym for protector) and soldier for Christ, the hearts of every woman you know. The heart is such a fragile thing and we must protect it at all costs!

Leave a Reply

