To find Joy

Most of what I write are my reflections on those around me. Questions of how they act, react, and speak of others. That isn’t to say that I neglect my own issues. If you have read the past few days, you may have noticed many “works of the flesh” that I’ve listed- many of which I struggle with in great ways. Yesterday morning’s was the one that caused me to look at my own heart the most. It is hard to work with other people and find the strength to love them unselfishly.

What I have realized in all of this is that we allow our joy to rest on the situations of those around us far too often. This could be grumpy neighbors, terrible bosses, bad co-workers, nasty customers, or idiot drivers. Don’t kid yourself- I am not the only one that struggles with loving people and joyfully serving them. Or I am the only one who does and everyone else has been perfected.

Either way, I have developed a list of 10 questions that I hope help you see how joyful (or unjoyful) you really are. Many of these just make you think- if you don’t like your honest answer, then you probably need to increase your joy.

Are You Joyful?

  1. How many times do you sigh in a day? In an hour?
  2. Do you ever get annoyed?
  3. What annoys you about people in general?
  4. How do you react to opposition?
  5. How much time do you spend alone in your room as opposed to being with other people?
  6. Do you spend time with people who might challenge you?
  7. Are people surprised upon realizing that you’re a believer?
  8. What happens if someone messes your order up at the restaurant? Or is not helping at customer service?
  9. How fast do you work? Are you diligent or rushed?
  10. How do you drive?

Leave a Reply

