Books (July)

So I have not quit reading this year… but I will not be meeting my goal of 60 books in 2009!

Oh well. There’s always next year!

So here are the three that I finished in July (Sort of. The last one I just finished the other day, so it’s technically August!)

Who Saves, God or Me?: Calvinism for the Twenty-First Century by Erroll Hulse.

This book was wonderful! I had a great time reading through it and just learning things I didn’t know. It mostly gave a history of true Calvinism (the type that I hold to which proclaims that everything, even pleasure, should be done to the glory of God) and proceeded to explain how Calvinism goes so much farther than simply the five points that everyone likes to point to all the time. It was this book that also articulated very true thoughts on the Western Church and our Arminian ways (including altar calls and such). Over all, I cannot recall anything that I didn’t enjoy in this book.

Growing up in Grace: The Use of Means for Communion with God by Murray Brett

I would highly suggest this book to any and every student of the Scriptures! (Mark Gedicks, this means your classes on youth ministry!!!). Brett starts off slow, but continues to show what communion with God looks like, and how God connects with us. He writes in each chapter on how to center on Christ and what it looks like. As always, the chapter that got to me the most was the one on Humility. Within each chapter is a section on good Gospel centered resources, discussion questions, and scenario solving questions. There is just one (minor) issue that I had. In one of the final chapters, Brett talks about the ACTS (Adoration, Confession, Thanksgiving, and Supplication) principle of prayer and seems to leave repentance out of the essentials of prayer. All I would say for those gleaning from this is that it is important to stress repentance as we are rotten sinners dealing with a holy God! Otherwise, this book was wonderfully reminiscent of a youth ministry course that I took under Pastor Mark Gedicks.

Finally Alive by John Piper

Phenominal exposition on what it means to be born again. You know, after reading much on the Emergent Church and their wishy-washy “doctrines” I have longed to read something that is sound and true and beneficial to evangelism. Piper’s book is just that. He takes a good look at passages from 1 John, 1 Peter, and other books and shows what being born again is really about. Piper does well to explain that the Spirit brings change so that we may be free from sin, but we are still human and thus are still sinful. If you have not read it, why are you still reading my blog? Go read Finally Alive!

Leave a Reply

