Why I’m not freaking out

Yesterday I answered a question regarding making money, having a retirement fund, etc.

Today, I would like to talk a bit about why I am not worried in our current financial situation. I’ll be honest, this is a difficult post for me. On the one hand, I don’t want to come across as though I am boasting in my efforts to pull myself up from my boot straps. Just like Paul, I have nothing to boast in. Nothing I have done in and of myself has lead me to blessings. On the other hand, I could sound like I am having a pity party and hoping for donations to the “struggling college kid fund”.

Please understand that I am not doing either one of these. I want to show the greatness of the promises of God and his grace in my life- may it encourage.

Life

I’m not going to lie. My family is not wealthy (who is nowadays anyway?). Between the numerous vehicle issues that we have had, health issues, job problems, etc… we have not been able to get “ahead” financially if you will. Bringing it to a more “personal” level my vehicle is still not road worthy, I have very little money available for the things I need for this fall, let alone life. I still owe school, credit card, my mom, etc. I also have a Sweden trip that I am planning with my brother this Christmas. On top of all of this- I recently left my old job (therefore taking a cut in pay) and am now working as an intern with my Church. Furthermore- I am the typical 20-year-old-blogger that lives with his mom and eats cheerios while finding his next blogging topic.

God is faithful

However, in all of this God’s grace is sufficient for me and his power is made perfect in my weakness (2 Cor. 12.9). I am not alone- God has promised to see me through everything that He has initiated in my life. For instance, with the amount of vehicle issues that my family has had, it would be absolutely absurd for me to freak out about my current vehicle not running at the moment. As a matter of fact, it has been last on my list of financial priorities for about a month now. My reasoning? It is just a car. Now, it is a great car, and a great blessing to have if it works, and I a very grateful for those who bought it for me. But ultimately, my family survived pre-second vehicle, and could still survive. Another blessing came recently when I heard that someone wants to pay for the repairs that it needs after its inspection! (Praise God!)

Joy in mourning

The point is that God has enabled me to have joy in Christ and not have my identity found in my wealth, poverty, class, job status, scholasticism, or anything else. My identity is in Christ alone. Nothing can take that away from me. So bring on three or more years of struggling to pay for school, a fleet of cars that break down, the crappy economy in the West, the current health care “crises”, and the fact that I probably will be just over the poverty line upon graduating. All of this is meaningless in light of living with Christ forever and being eternally happy in him. Remember the point of this blog:

No, in all these things we are more than conquerors through him who loved us. For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord.

Romans 8.37-39

2 thoughts on “Why I’m not freaking out

  1. john guy August 3, 2009 / 15:11

    Again, another wonderful post Jake!!! Keep them coming!!

Leave a Reply

