The Car

As a follow-up to why I’m not freaking out I would like to tell you about my car.

I was given a 97 Mitsubishi Eclipse. It is a beautiful vehicle with low mileage and only two doors with limited space in the back making it the ideal date car! The people who bought it for me are wonderful folks who have always cared for the needs (and desires) of our family.

Well, I took it to be inspected today, and the work to be done is in the thousands. Needless to say- I’m not going to be spending money on that and will be selling it for parts ASAP! (For the record, the couple that bought it for me had no idea about this until it was in their garage after the sale went through. So we knew that it would be a struggle!)

Before I continue, we should look at James.

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, for you know that the testing of your faith produces steadfastness. And let steadfastness have its full effect, that you may be perfect and complete, lacking in nothing. If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask God who gives generously to all without reproach, and it will be given to him.

James 1.2-5

This is by no means the most difficult trial I have been through. As I have mentioned before, my family has a long history of car troubles and in reality, this is minor. But what I am looking at here is the fact that James brings up the need for wisdom and the ability to ask God for it.

I would assert that God has given me some wisdom to discern why this ended the way it did.

God is telling me to wait…

I think that the biggest reason behind this is that God is showing me that I don’t need a car right now. Indeed, he has given me some monetary benefits of not having it:

  1. My insurance is incredibly low without it!
  2. I was going to have a tire change, which would have cost around $80, but now I have that money for other things (like my upcoming trip to Maryland)
  3. I now have four new tires, a brand new sub-woofer, and an amp that I can look into selling (or keeping for future needs- my own or those of others)

I’ll admit, these seem like selfish things but they are not (and I don’t mean them in that way). The great thing of grace is that in light of having grace poured out on me, I can pour it out on others. So with my monthly expenses being less, not only can I pay for school sooner, but I am released from the bonds of slavery to my car and pouring money into it. I am able to help others where it’s needed. In addition to this, I am forced to live in community more. If I had a car- I would be able to go places at my pace, when I needed to, and with complete disregard to others. But now, I still have to depend on others!

Praise God for that last point- because if He didn’t create this situation, I would not have the need of others that I have now. I would be able to feign Independence.

3 thoughts on “The Car

  1. Daniel Ouellette August 4, 2009 / 17:00

    Hi jakob,

    I love your attitude about the car.

  2. Sarah Willson Photography August 4, 2009 / 18:24

    You have such a great attitude about things, Jakob! =)

  3. Jakob August 4, 2009 / 18:40

    It’s definitely of God guys. On my own I’m rather whiny!

Leave a Reply

