Why I’m not doing live tweets

I am currently at the Worship God Conference in Gaithersburg, Maryland and for anyone who knows me well, you may be wondering why I haven’t posted 20 tweets on twitter in the last three minutes. I hope that you haven’t been waiting in anticipation- because it isn’t coming.

Here’s the deal. After Joshua Harris wrote on the issue of tweeting in Church, and John Piper followed up on it, I began to think more about it. There are obvious benefits of sharing great quotes with the “outside world” but we should not do so at the expense of our spiritual growth. In tweeting during sermons, worship music, conferences, etc, we can easily hear and copy down what’s been said, but we cannot actually listen to it and therefore be edified by it if we are consumed in squeezing what the pastor said ten minutes ago into 140 characters or less!

All that to say, I won’t be tweeting quotes during the sessions (out of personal conviction- not in attempts to convict others who may do so), but before and after each session I will be. Also, look for a blog post this weekend including some of my favorite quotes and session notes from the conference.

God Bless!

Leave a Reply

