Why I love the Church

After reading Why We Love the Church by Kevin DeYoung and Ted Kluck, I have decided to post the biggest reason that I love the Church (with a wee bit of humor first).

To be changed

Regardless of why you have neglected fellowship with a local body of believers, you should come back. Simple, I know, but bear with me. This picture (and the added caption) captures exactly why I love the Church. It is really easy for me to surround myself with people who will tell me what I want to hear. If I wanted to, I could remove myself from fellowship and just keep going on my own, or better yet, I could find other people that wanted to “experience God” their own way and just ignore leadership and Godly authority (which is very common today). I have had numerous friends who have done this. They have been told a truth that they don’t like and are very quick to leave and either find another Church or just hang out with their friends and (mistakenly) call their “conversations” fellowship.

Nobody likes it

What these people assume is that everyone but them is happy with everything in the Church. This isn’t true. We all have things that we don’t like about our Church. But the important thing is that it is our Church. Or, to be more specific, it is Christ’s body of which He is the Head (1 Cor. 12) Is it easy to gather? No. Will it hurt? Definitely. Does growing in Christ require pain? Yes. Think about your physical body- what happens when you grow? Growing pains. They hurt, but they are a necessary proof of growth.

Come back to the family. If you don’t like something, address it. If you are ignored, remember who is really the head over everything.

And let us consider how to stir up one another to love and good works, not neglecting to meet together as is the habit of some, but encouraging one another, and all the more as you see the Day drawing near.

Hebrews 1o.24,25

One thought on “Why I love the Church

Leave a Reply

