Is Jesus in your message?

Not that I want to keep ragging on Rob Bell, but he did say another thing in his interview that stuck with me. It turned out to be good timing too, as I just recently wrote two blogs about keeping Christ in focus. Kudos on your timing Mr. Bell:

Q. I’m struck by the fact that I don’t hear a lot of explicitly religious language, or mentions of Jesus, from you.

A. I think we have enough religious people who are going around trying to convert people. My guard is up when somebody is trying to convert me to their thing. Are you talking to me because you actually are interested in this subject, because you care about me as a human, or am I one more possible conversion that will make you feel good about your religiosity? I don’t have any embarrassment about my religion, and it’s not that I’m too cool, but I would hope that the Jesus message would come through, hopefully through a full humanity.

Need I say more?

Probably not. So I’ll be brief.

“For I decided to know nothing among you except Jesus Christ and him crucified.”  – 1 Corinthians 2.2

“But what does it say? “The word is near you, in your mouth and in your heart” (that is, the word of faith that we proclaim); because, if you confess with your mouth that Jesus is Lord and believe in your heart that God raised him from the dead, you will be saved. For with the heart one believes and is justified, and with the mouth one confesses and is saved. For the Scripture says, “Everyone who believes in him will not be put to shame.”… For “everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.” How then will they call on him in whom they have not believed? And how are they to believe in him of whom they have never heard? And how are they to hear without someone preaching? And how are they to preach unless they are sent? As it is written, “How beautiful are the feet of those who preach the good news!” ”

-Romans 10.8-11, 13-15

Yeah, Evangelicals have messed up a bit with our message. Yeah we need to start caring about people more than we do conversions. But how on earth is the message of Jesus going to come out if you don’t even proclaim that message?

One thought on “Is Jesus in your message?

  1. mike ruel October 5, 2009 / 10:59

    Wow – what a revealing interview/article. Thank you for pointing it out and your post. I agree with your last paragraph 100%!

    -M

Leave a Reply

