Little Children

Have you ever noticed what happens when little kids get something new? Take, for instance, this kid in my neighborhood yesterday. I went for a quick walk and while on my way home this kid, no older than 7 or 8, came out of his house with a toy in his hand. He saw me and decided I needed to know about his new stuff.

“Hey,” he said, “I have the Scooby-doo mystery movies one and two!”. I said, “Cool”, and as I continued to walk (and as his mom was putting him in the car) he continued, “Yeah, and it’s so funny when Scooby says go!” Now, I have no idea what this kid meant by that, he’s a really little guy, but what struck me was his joy.

Our Joy

What if we had the mindset of this little child? Let me rephrase that: we should have the mindset of this child. What does that look like? It looks like the father in Luke 15 whom, after receiving back his lost son, rejoices and calls everyone else to rejoice as well because his son “was dead, and is alive again; he was lost, and is found.”

If we have been rescued from sin and death; if we have been redeemed by the blood of the lamb; if we, as former enemies of God, are saved and many his ambassadors; where is our joy? Why aren’t we, like this little boy, rejoicing over the gift that we have received and telling everyone we come in contact with? Where is the joy in our salvation?

Make Psalm 51.12 your prayer:

Restore unto me the joy of your salvation and uphold me with a willing spirit.

One thought on “Little Children

  1. fran kocher December 3, 2009 / 10:42

    Jakob…..This was the question I asked that began my “walk” in an entirely new mode….from the flesh to by the Spirit. It has been wonderfrully JOYFUl to learn of and grow in GRACE other than works of flesh. Very freeing as well. At 77 still fighting the flesh, however! Satan uses it skillfully to thwart our walk with Jesus.

Leave a Reply

