God’s Sovereignty over Car Accidents

Friday marked the end of my family’s trip to Vermont. It was a great journey that began with Emmalie and I surprising my parents by being there unexpectedly, and ended with a car accident.

What Happened

Emmalie and I were riding back to Maine in her car when I decided to pass the vehicle in front of us, which turned out to be a bad idea. The moment we merged into the left lane, I lost control. After fishtailing a little, and swerving a lot, we ended up on the roof in the ditch. The car settled and we worked to get out: I unbuckled and almost landed on my head, when we saw a man clear off Emmalie’s window and begin yelling to us. Then my sister’s boyfriend was at the window. I rolled it down and got her unbuckled. The guys (now four of them) heaved us out of the car and we proceeded to turn it over onto its wheels.

What didn’t happen

Emmalie and I got checked out by the EMTs and were completely fine. The car was pulled out and we only had to tighten the fan belt and replace some fluids. We didn’t have to leave the car in Vermont but made it home safely.

Living like I believe God

I am a believer; Christ has saved me. But in those tough situations where I am in danger, I have a hard time believing that I’ll be OK. When we were spinning out of control, I didn’t know what was going to happen, but God led the car to where he did. When we were sitting in the upside down car (and I was freaking out) he led the right people there to help us out. He prevented the car from damage and us from injury.

It is easy for me to preach about the goodness and sovereignty of God, but hard for me to live it out. When bad stuff happens, it is hard to believe that everything will be OK and just trust in God. Friday, Emmalie and I made it out of an accident with our lives intact. It shouldn’t have happened, but it did, only because God wanted it that way. Solo Deo Gloria.

4 thoughts on “God’s Sovereignty over Car Accidents

  1. John January 3, 2010 / 22:00

    God protects his own Son.. Love you both

  2. Jakob January 3, 2010 / 23:01

    There have been other comments on this post that have not been approved, but will be replied to shortly.

Leave a Reply

