A prayer for devotion

Lord, keep me faithful even when I become poor, unhealthy, and hungry. When my eyes fail me, my hearing escapes me, and my pocket empties- may I still be yours. Christ, sustain my heart even as you have sustained my wallet and my stomach for so long. I am not poor, but rich. I have not suffered to the point of shedding blood, but have been kept by the surpassing grace of your cross. Spirit, revive my soul that my worship may be found in you, oh God. When I lose my car, my house, my family, and my possessions, may I retain your Word and your heart, and may your grace abound far beyond the wisdom of my heart.

May I realize that I am rich in my poverty, and that all I need is the gold that has been refined by you, and the garments that you have bleached whiter than snow. All my hope is found in you, and may that be so as long as this soul inhabits this body.

How shall we sing the LORD’s song in a foreign land? If I forget you, O Jerusalem, let my right hand forget its skill! Let my tongue stick to the roof of my mouth, if I do not remember you, if I do not set Jerusalem above my highest joy!

Psalm 137.4-6

Leave a Reply

