Longing For Home

I have traveled most of my life; mostly to Sweden where half of my extended family resides, but since the Winter of 2007 I have been to St. Louis, China, Chicago, Vermont (twice), Michigan, Maryland, and Canada. In addition to this, I have had many opportunities to bring people to Boston Logan Airport and I drive about 40 minutes to get to school twice a week.

With all of this travelling, driving and flying, one thing has become more and more clear to me: I love being home. Take a trip down to Boston (just over a two hour drive one way): by the time I have made it to the airport and am headed home, I can only think of one thing: rest. It isn’t that I am necessarily tired, it is just that I reach that point where I think, “I wish I could just stop right here, and not go any farther.” But what I always realize shortly after is that it would be infinitely stupid to just stop where I am and not go home.

As with Christ

This should be our attitude in life. As we progress in our faith in Christ, it becomes easy to say, “I’ve gone far enough, Jesus will be happy with where I am, and I don’t need to keep running for Him.” And it is even easier to say that being in Christ is not worth the fight.

At times it seems that it isn’t worth it to suffer the mild persecution that we face in the States, deal with money and budgets in a Gospel centered way, or answer the questions that are hurled our way by nay-sayers. It doesn’t seem worth it to watch as millions suffer a devastating earthquake like the one down in Haiti. It doesn’t seem worth it to try to respond without marring the name of Christ.

But it is

Having eternity with Christ and being considered His follower on earth is infinitely worth everything. His glory is worth the suffering, it is worth not fully knowing the answers to the questions, it is worth death. Knowing Christ is worth saying, against all who would disagree, God is omnipotent and benevolent in all His ways. It is hard to know and explain, but Christ is perfect in all His ways. We must trust in Him for all our trials, and rest in the future glory that we will share in.

But whatever gain I had, I counted as loss for the sake of Christ. Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ and be found in him…

Philippians 3.7-9

Leave a Reply

