A Reintroduction…

To a fault, my general inconsistency keeps me from many things, blogging being one of them. So this article is not only a call to repentance for myself in that respect, but also in the area of how I interact with God’s living word.

So the reintroduction I propose is not of myself, (as I am not such an interesting person as to need a reintroduction) but rather, that of God’s truly inerrant and inspired word. The Bible.

I once had a lengthy discussion with a Muslim friend. As you can imagine, neither one of us budged on the basic tenets of our faith, so the discussion went nowhere. Though he did offer me some valuable insight regarding Christianity.

What would happen to the Christian faith if every copy of the Bible simply disappeared?

In my arrogance I glibly responded “That would never happen, God wouldn’t let it,  it is His inspired word”

But what if it did?

Let’s just for the sake of the argument, imagine that we lose all trace of our Creator’s self disclosure. That for some reason the Bible just vanished.

We already know from scripture what would happen. Israel, even with the Prophets,  struggled to keep God in their hearts. In the book of Judges, the phrase “Again Israel did evil in the sight of the Lord” appears some eight bajillion times (exaggeration added) and Deuteronomy nine displays Israel’s disobedience before Moses even returned with the Ten Commandments.

Without the Bible, I don’t think it would be long before we fell away completely…

But my real question though, is what would we do if we truly, truly believed that what Jesus said in the Bible was true?

Would we live it? Love it? Would it really make us change? Could it make us give to the poor or feed the hungry? Would we memorize it? Bring it with us everywhere? Would we no longer be ashamed of it?

My challenge today is not to go out and memorize the entire Bible, so that we’re on par with Islam and Judaism. Instead let’s just reintroduce ourselves to Scripture as God has preserved it.

2 Timothy 3:16-17 says

All Scripture is breathed out by God and profitable for teaching, for reproof, for correction and for training in righteousness, that the man of God may be competent, equipped for every good work

The Bible is infinitely important, so let’s treat it like it has infinite value.

3 thoughts on “A Reintroduction…

  1. Tim February 22, 2010 / 21:40

    ill get to that in my next post!

    • Jakob February 22, 2010 / 21:43

      WHOA!! Another one?!

Leave a Reply

