Why I hate obedience

My small group just finished reading through Francis Chan’s book, Crazy Love. In the last chapter he recounts a conversation a friend of his once had:

A friend of mine was speaking recently. Afterward a guy came up and told him, “I would go serve God as a missionary overseas, but honestly, if I went right now it would only be out of obedience.” My friend’s response was “Yes, and…?” (Crazy Love, p. 169)

The way I want it

Our group is going to start serving people. At least once a month, we as a group will be going to help out in various places in the name of Christ. I don’t want to.

Don’t get me wrong, this was my idea, but my flesh is adamantly opposed to it. I would much rather have the group, life, the Church, and everything, just be the same as always: sit together in a living room praying, talking, reading the Bible, and occasionally eating together.

It’s the way it’s always been, why can’t we keep it that way? Most of the Church lives by this philosophy, why can’t we?

The way it has to be

Because Jesus commanded otherwise:

Go therefore and make disciples of all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit, teaching them to observe all that I have commanded you. And behold, I am with you always, to the end of the age. (Matt. 28.18-20)

… “You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind, and your neighbor as yourself.” (Luke 10.27)

How are we going out into the world if we are simply being seat warmers ever Monday night? Don’t hear what I am not saying- there is always a place for studying the word, we are commanded to study as well, but that is not the extent of the life of a Christian. We must serve Christ by meeting temporal and eternal needs of others.

I don’t want to do this. It takes me out of where I feel safe. It requires faith. But it is something that must happen, and Christ will be using it to grow me and my brothers and sisters in our group. We always need it. My flesh is not into this, but Jesus (speaking of temptation) encourages us in our weakness: Watch and pray that you may not enter into temptation. The spirit indeed is willing, but the flesh is weak.” (Matt. 26.41)

One thought on “Why I hate obedience

  1. Tim February 23, 2010 / 20:03

    Go forward with grace and peace and engage the community! great blog, right focus, God bless!

Leave a Reply

