Lying worshipers

It’s what most of us inevitably become. Today is Monday, which means the promises you made to God while singing yesterday are dangerously close to being broken. If you don’t know what I mean, consider the song our congregation sang last week:

Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your mind, with all your soul, with all your strength… I will serve you, Lord with all my heart…

Feel like a liar singing this? Because I do. Whenever I sing these songs, my mind says, “listen to these liars, they aren’t worshiping during the week, how can they pretend to now?” Then the Spirit says, “Look at YOU, you liar! YOU don’t worship me 7 days a week! And you think you’re better?” Even if we mean what we say when we sing, it’s incredibly hard to keep promises that have been made on Sunday all week long. It’s hard enough to keep one made during the service until the end of the day!

But for Christ

This all serves as yet another reason that we need Jesus. Jesus pays our way to get to the Father, but He also continues to intercede for us and makes our worship worthy. Through constantly repenting of our sin, we may draw nearer to Jesus and avoid the lie that is so often our lives. Like Paul says in Romans 7.21-25:

So I find it to be a law that when I want to do right, evil lies close at hand. For I delight in the law of God, in my inner being, but I see in my members another law waging war against the law of my mind and making me captive to the law of sin that dwells in my members. Wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death?

Thanks be to God through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, I myself serve the law of God with my mind, but with my flesh I serve the law of sin.

So whenever you break a Sunday promise, be encouraged that even Paul wasn’t consistent with what he wrote in the Bible. But Jesus is the perfect man who fulfills our worship. We must turn to him, the author and perfecter of our faith, daily.

Leave a Reply

