Contemplation

I wrote the following on a train ride to Boston a month ago. This is my slightly edited version.

Oh how we have ruined countless– thousands upon hundred thousands– within the Church by reducing the Holy Scriptures. Not just the Gospel (which has itself been incredibly reduced), but the Bible, God’s inspired Word, has been reduced to cheap, legalistic, moralistic, religious, Gospel-less law! I am deeply saddened by confessions such as this:

I was trained to view the Bible through a moralistic lens. It was not until recent years that I began to grasp the concept of a truly Christ-centered approach to the Whole Bible. I was one of those people who looked at the Old Testament passages through a purely moralistic lens. Thus, I saw the Bible as primarily about me, and not about Jesus. (Voddie Baucham Jr. What He Must Be… p. 61)

How many of us does that describe? How many churches, teachers, even pastors have done this in the past? How many of us have taught this way? Although it saddens me, I receive great joy from this:

The Gospel is about much more than how we get saved and go to heaven. The Gospel is about the work of Christ saturating every aspect of our lives… even our parenting and courtship and marriage. (p. 59)

Being trained one way doesn’t mean you’ll remain in that mind set. God is saving us out of selfish thinking and into Christ-centeredness.

Which Gospel do I present? Am I bringing the “get out of jail free: version of salvation, or the true, Jesus is Lord and Savior version? The latter is the true, yet oft neglected Gospel and it is good for every aspect of life. May it inform our lives daily.

2 thoughts on “Contemplation

  1. Drew Letourneau June 21, 2010 / 07:04

    Man, you hit the nail on the head. I see this happening all of the time, and it really depresses me that the one “system” in America that was once God fearing is now falling into the trap of changing to conform to this world. “Do not conform to this world, but be transformed….” Reaching as many people as you can is great, but only when you are doing everything in that outreach biblically based.

  2. dan pierce June 21, 2010 / 10:27

    i have been stugling with this. what is the gospel. what is the church doing worng but more importently what am i doing worng. the gospel is abuit christ. the universe is christ. it is his story. i apreciate this post. i am not sure waht to do aobut it. it gives me alot to think aobut.

Leave a Reply

