Proud?

This is not an attack on America or on Patriotism. I very much enjoy and am thankful for this gift of freedom in the States. Instead, this is a caution to those who would equate America with Jesus. This is a caution to not see America as the eternal kingdom.

I have been more wary of our “Christian” music lately, but even more worthy of careful thought is patriotic music. One such song is God Bless the USA (Proud to be an American). This is one of those songs that we love to sing (it’s actually been stuck in my head for the past week!) But let’s think through at least a portion of this for a moment.

If I lose it all, at least I live in America

If tomorrow all the things were gone I’d worked for all my life. And I had to start again with just my children and my wife. I’d thank my lucky stars, to be livin here today. ‘Cause the flag still stands for freedom, and they can’t take that away.

And I’m proud to be an American, where at least I know I’m free. And I wont forget the men who died, who gave that right to me. And I gladly stand up, next to you and defend her still today. ‘Cause there ain’t no doubt I love this land, God bless the USA.

Like I said in this post I am happy that we have freedom, but sometimes I think that we take that freedom as too much of a security blanket. This song boasts that it is wonderful to live here because we can pick ourselves up if we fall down. But is that how we should live? Should we be putting our trust in our nation?

All I have is Christ

No. We should not be so trusting of the USA for our peace and safety. We have a great and wonderful High Priest who forever goes before us forgiving our sin and supplying our needs. He is our savior. He is our hope. He is our peace. But we are very comfortable without Him and I think it was Francis Chan who said, “Jesus cannot comfort those who are already comfortable.”

If tomorrow all I have is gone, that I have worked for all my life, I’ll thank my God above that He has given me Jesus Christ.

For more on this, see Bob Kauflin’s post.

One thought on “Proud?

Leave a Reply

