Adventuring and Missions

Driving in my car I usually flip back and forth between the radio and whatever jams I’m rockin’ in my CD player. Which is usually some high octane… blue grass…just kidding. But between one of these flips I caught part of an ad on the current station.

Loosely paraphrased,

Win a missions trip for an African adventure.

Really? Is that a really appropriate way to announce missions? Advertising it like some sort of game show prize?

“Congratulations (deep, exciting radio voice) You’ve just won our grand prize, Your going to Africa to save starving families!”

I don’t know, maybe its just me. Don’t get me wrong, I really appreciate the station funding missions. I’ve been on short term missions and I understand the need and importance. But I guess I feel there should be a little more solemnity regarding human suffering.  But thats not really my point either.

My point is that we generally don’t have a real opinion on mission.  Yeah its great, we’d say, but how many of us really understand the concept? Are we missionaries to Africa? Most of us are not. Are we missionaries to Americas largest cities? Most of us are not. Are we even missionaries within our own cities? I again, would say most of us are not, myself included.

Its frustrating when I see something that is not per the Gospel. Its also frustrating when I remember that I am not in line with it myself.

We tend to attribute declaring the Gospel of Jesus with people who don’t know it, teaching something brand new. But Paul said in Romans 1:15

I am eager to preach the Gospel to you also who are in Rome

Paul is speaking to Christians! Imagine how much easier it would be to be missionaries if we started with the Church, with our friends, with our families!

My last question is simply this. What would the Church look like if we started to live missionally and showing Jesus Christ as central in everything we do? That, I think, would be the true adventure.

Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

