I have arrived

In Sweden, that is. Here is something I began to write up while on a 45 minute bus ride from the airport to the train station:

I’m here.

And by here, I mean in Sweden. I am currently sitting on a bus headed to my train which will take me to my Grandparents (Mormor and Morfar) and my little brother, Jonathan. It’s been an interesting day so far and I have learned a few more things about traveling that I probably knew, but had forgotten:

  • Always pay attention to which terminal you are in and where you need to go. This matters especially at Newark Liberty Airport where they conveniently schedule two or more flights at the same time going to the same place. Experience: I was at the wrong gate until about an hour before my flight left for Stockholm. And after leaving security, getting to the air-rail, and passing back through security (a long line full of Indians… I am not in Kansas anymore) I had about ten minutes to find my gate which (thankfully) was really close. As I got to the gate they issued the final boarding call. Thank you Jesus!
  • If you plan on telling the person sitting next to you that you are in ministry, ask them what they do first. I sat next to a man named Brad and we shared occasional conversation over the course of the flight. As we were beginning our descent, he asked me what I did back home to which he replied, “My biggest problem with religion is…” But more on that later. Needless to say, I don’t know what he does for a living but have enough information about him to know where he comes from.
  • Always tell people your age. The good news is that I look at least 25 years old. The bad news? I paid 30 kr. (crowns) more for a bus ticket from the airport to the train station in Stockholm. No big deal, it’s only $4 or so, but still… that’s 30 kr! It just seems more when I say it that way.
  • Lastly, if you think you’re lactose intolerant, don’t eat something with feta (or any kind of) cheese before boarding any flight. I don’t need to explain that one for you…

That is all…

For now, that is. I have met some great people and should be blogging a bit on the way. I am looking forward to the next two weeks and all that I’ll be doing. Thanks for your prayers!

3 thoughts on “I have arrived

  1. angelika August 6, 2010 / 12:53

    Woah Newark, what’s your deal?

    Also, I make it a point to reinvent my information every time the person next to me asks. I’ve had about eight or nine different names, ages, and occupations. So much fun!

    • Jakob Guy August 7, 2010 / 01:57

      Haha, that’s awesome. Yeah, I don’t know what the issue with Newark is, but now I know!

Leave a Reply

